planningterew.blogg.se

An abundance of katherines by john green page count
An abundance of katherines by john green page count




I know a lot of people have mixed/negative feelings about John Green, though, so that's just my opinion. In my opinion, I don't think John Green necessarily has a "worst" book, because personally I love them all. Throughout the story, Colin tries to create a theory and mathematical equation that can accurately depict-and even predict-romantic relationships, hoping to win back the heart of his most recent Katherine.įirst of all, I'd like to start out by stating that this is considered John Green's worst/lesser story. They end up finding and staying in a small town miles and miles from home, and there they meet quite a few interesting people. So his one and only friend, Hassan, convinces Colin to go on a road trip. Now, Katherine XIX (the nineteenth) has broken up with Colin and he is heartbroken. He was not a popular person, but he did happen to make one friend along the way. He has spent his past eighteen years dating Katherines, anagramming words and phrases, and memorizing many, many facts. I mean, he's eighteen now) who has dated a total of nineteen different girls named Katherine (technically eighteen, but that's a minor detail and the title says nineteen so we'll go with nineteen). *cough* some of John Green's other books.Ĭolin Singleton is a child prodigy (well, formerly. Which doesn't actually make sense because the book is not related to school, but hey, whatever, right? Besides, I really liked it the first time I read it, and I knew rereading it wouldn't cause me emotional pain like. So I figured, why not reread An Abundance of Katherines? Maybe I've started a back to school tradition by rereading this book every year. After finishing The Third Twin, I decided to do a reread because I didn't have any new books to read at the moment. I give it 2.5 out 5 stars.I had first read AAoK (An Abundance of Katherines) last year when school first started. There were footnotes that dragged my attention from the story nearly every page.Īs much as I enjoyed Green’s other books, I was not a fan of this one. The writing style was rather distracting. I didn’t find myself really caring about these characters, though. Hassan was probably my favorite character, and his little revolution at the end was inspiring. He was amusing at some points, but there was no connection whatsoever. He was meant to be awkward and it was interesting reading about him because he is so quirky. Secondly, I did not connect with any of the characters…at all.Ĭolin was a very awkward character. There were a few interesting scenes but I spent most of it just waiting to finish it and hoping that something amazing would happen in the last few pages…. It seemed like it led up to…pretty much nothing. It definitely was more lighthearted, but this book really dragged.įirst of all, I didn’t feel like there was much of a point to it. I liked John Green’s other books, so I was excited for this one, especially because it seemed so much more lighthearted. To say the least, when I finished this book I was left with a sense of disappointment. –Back cover of An Abundance of Katherines by John Green Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun–but no Katherines. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type happens to be girls named Katherine.






An abundance of katherines by john green page count